What is a carb and what is it's purpose?

Discussion in 'Hand Pipes' started by j20, Aug 28, 2007.

1. j20

j20 New Member

Hello,

As if you couldn't tell my question, I am completely new to marijuana. I'm interested in smoking some to see how it feels and more importantly, if and how I like it.

Tomorrow I'm picking up my first bowl, and I guess I am getting a glass one. So this leads me to my first question, what is a carb (I have seen the word pop up all over this message board) and what is it's purpose? Is a bowl without a carb useless?

Thanks!

2 people like this.
  2. vern

vern Sr. Member

When you light the herb, smoke fills the chamber (open space inside the glass). The carb is just a small hole that allows air to flow into the chamber and clear it. It allows you to get all of the smoke out of the pipe and into your lungs. How you use it is completely up to you. Some wait until the very end of a hit to use it, some clear it a couple of times in a hit.

3. ITG

ITG Ardent Dilettante

A bowl without a carb is not useless, but different, and harder to draw on.

A carb, or rush, or I'm sure a dozen other names I don't know (call it a carb at the shop, though), is a word for a hole in the pipe that you cover with one finger (usually positioned to be the thumb, in my experience) to close it of when you first hit the bowl. This draws the smoke into the pipe like you would with a normal pipe. Then, when the pipe is full of smoke, you take your finger off the carb to allow air to rush in while you continue to inhale, essentially pushing the smoke into your lungs. If you don't have a carb on the pipe, then it's impossible to completely clear the pipe without putting out the herb in the bowl, which will waste some smoke. You could always forcibly tamp it out, but it's much more convenient to just use a pipe with a carb. Most glass pipes have them, though, so it won't be hard to pick one out that you like.