1/8? 1 ounce?

Discussion in 'Strains and Definitions' started by Killersquid87, Sep 29, 2002.

1. Killersquid87 Killersquid87

• Since: Sep 29, 2002
    I am pretty new to weed, a friend of mine introduced me to it this summer so right away I had to find as much info and the termonology as soon as possible, but 1 thing I can't understand is how (without a scale) do I know how much an 1/2 1/4 1/8 or anything is, I mean if I goto a dealer without knowing this I could very easily get ripped off.
  2. t0ker t0ker

• Since: Jul 25, 2001
    Welcome to mj.com!!

1/8 is about 1/4 quater of a ziplock bag
    1/4 is about half a ziplock bag
    1/2 is a ziplock bag
    ounce is 2 bags
  3. Killersquid87 Killersquid87

• Since: Sep 29, 2002
    Thanks man, that helps alot, and thanks for the nice welcome.... I am so happy I am now involved in the exciting world of weed... Or the eww as some people say
  4. I_Love_Nugs I_Love_Nugs

• Since: Sep 22, 2002
    What kind of bags are you using? An ounce is not 2 ziplock bags. It is close to one bag or so.
  5. Conine Conine

• Seasoned Activist
    • Since: Oct 31, 2001
    Kind of depends on how run down the bag is....

And of course it will depend on how dense the bud is, or if it's been compressed...

General rule used in this area is a finger's width for a quarter, 2 for a half, four for an ounce... it certainly isn't science, but it's quick and easy.
  6. HotLunch HotLunch

• Since: May 13, 2002
    You folks..

....crack me up.

Buy a scale.

Expect to get ripped off. This is a black market.

You can't eyeball bud. I have bud so dense, you could pack an ounce into a soup can.
  7. t0ne t0ne

• Since:
    yeah...

exactly, people wanna rip u off hardcore so they'll lie to you.

Best tactic when buying weed is not to listen to the dealer. If they say "creeper" before you effectively zone them out then just leave :p