Building Muscle and Marijuana

Discussion in 'Surveys, Polls and Questions' started by NaturalMystic79, Aug 30, 2001.

1. NaturalMystic79 NaturalMystic79

• Since:
    Hello! :wave: First I'd like to say this is my first post here, and am very happy to be here. Glad I found such a big comprehensive message board dedicated to the green leaves.

I'm pretty involved weightlifting. My goal is pretty much to get bigger and stronger. I haven't smoked much since I started training 1.5 years ago. I started lifting to help me quit drinking alcohol and smoking cigarettes, it definately did the trick. I've really missed smoking on a regular basis in the past year and half, and am wanted to start up again. I'm wondering if smoking marijuana once a week or every other week will be detrimental to building muscle? Keep in mind that I eat well, sleep good, and don't drink alcohol nor do I smoke cigarettes. I like to blaze up just to unwind and relax. Is this counterproductive to my weightraining?
  2. HappyMan HappyMan

• Subscriber
    • Since: Apr 13, 2001
    I've never heard any thing that says marijuana interfears with muscle development.....not even propaganda.
  3. NaturalMystic79 NaturalMystic79

• Since:
    Happyman~

What about those who say that smoking marijuana lowers testosterone levels and reduces lung capacity. The reduced lung capacity would not let more air and blood flow to the muscles for building muscle? Are those just myths?
  4. HappyMan HappyMan

• Subscriber
    • Since: Apr 13, 2001
    Reduced Testosterone is a myth.....I don't know about reduced lung capacity, but assume it is similar to tobbaco....
  5. PoTSMoKa PoTSMoKa

• Since: May 23, 2001
    Marijuana expands the airways and tobacco contracts them....

I think it should be fine, didnt you see American Beauty ??
  6. JugglesTheClown JugglesTheClown

• Since:
    lol @ American Beauty
  7. BigMatt BigMatt

• Since: Nov 8, 2000