Can weed complicate Lasik?

Discussion in 'Medicinal Marijuana' started by al anon, May 12, 2004.

1. al anon al anon

• Since: May 12, 2004
    I'm a regular smoker and planning on having lasik eye surgery next week. Could there be complications from this?
    Am I just paranoid? What do you think?
  2. beats beats

• Since: Jan 11, 2003
    Hmm, well, try not to smoke that day, it does change the pressure of the eyes, which could probaly pose a problem (I'm no expert).

But just don't smoke that day, or for a few days before, if you're paranoid.
  3. melanotaenia melanotaenia

• Seasoned Activist
    • Since: Apr 20, 2004
    I agree. The smoking will affect the muscles in your eyes, hence the heavy eyelid effect after smoking, and this could probably compliacte things. IBID on not smoking for a few days, you don't have to stop for weeks, just long enough for the muscles in your eyes to revert back to their normal functioning i.e. when you are not smoking MJ.

Better safe than sorry you know? I heard that costs a lot of money to have done, so it probably is a good idea to avoid the MJ for the few days prior and after the surgery.

Though I am also not an expert in this, I do know that your eye muscles are affected by smoking. Cheers.
  4. abort416 abort416

• Since: Aug 2, 2004
    hey im a pothead and i just had lasik this past wednesday
    i smoked all day tuesday before i had the surgery
    didnt smoke the day of and havent touched anything until today, monday 5 days after the surgery (i had wavefront btw)