Cannabis, migraines, pneumonia and estrogen

Discussion in 'Medicinal Marijuana' started by Larkins, Oct 13, 2008.

1. Larkins Larkins

• Since: Oct 12, 2008
    i'll try to keep this brief ...

started smoking because of migraines, but i've always had lung problems. most recently, this is the second year in a row i've had to deal with pneumonia (last year i was hospitalized for a week).

i don't smoke much -- only what is effective ( usually ;-) ) and only when i start getting a migraine.

it's seriously a miracle drug though. i'd tired everything from maxalt to imatrex and even topomax (an anticonvulsant) among other things. combining daily topomax with maxalt when i'd start to get a migraine would work but i'd still be out of my mind for 2 days and the topomax side effects were not worth it (one is that you can't find the words you need to say something, and i work as a writer ... so you can see how that'd be a problem).

cannabis, on the other hand, will completely eliminate a migraine in less than 5 minutes with very few side effects, allowing me to actually get work done and go about my day normally. it's a god send.

anyway, there are issues.

i built a double bubbler bong with an ice chamber and a filter in the down stem out of gatoraid bottles, plastic tubes, and a rather nice wooden pipe. i keep things clean and don't heat things that will hurt me (no aluminum foil or anything). it's a bitch to use, but i'd hope that there was enough filtering going on to keep my lungs safe.

but it seems that smoking is really starting to affect my lungs in a bad way. this is the first time i've had pneumonia two years in a row, and i can't think it's just coincidence.