Marijuana and diabetes

Discussion in 'Medicinal Marijuana' started by Badbug, Jun 13, 2001.

1. Badbug Badbug

• Since:
    A friend and I would like to know if diabetics can have any ill effects from smoking. We heard that it lowers blood glucose levels which is what causes "the munchies". Is this true? Is it a problem? How much of one? If you indulge your munchie craving can you conteract any problems? Please help us out, weekend entertainment depends on it! thanx! :confused:
  2. Greenman Greenman

• Seasoned Activist
    • Since: Oct 8, 2000
    A diabetic friend of mine (who did NOT smoke pot) said that diabetics can eat the same things we can, they just have to be careful of the quantity that they eat because of their blood sugar.

Your friend should have all the instramentation to tell if marijuana is indeed lowering his blood glucose level. If he does not already have a blood sugar testing kit then he really should invest in one.

I am not a doctor, however, since glaucoma is caused by diabeties in some people, and marijuana is used to treat glaucoma, and the fact that no one has died from marijuana, would lead me to believe that there are not any dire heath risks for a diabetic smoking pot if the keep an eye on their blood sugar and what they eat when they have the munchies. However, I would definatly get a second opinon, preferably from a professional or several other diabetics who are also long term pot smokers before taking my words as gospel. After all, this is your health we are talking about, and you should always take care of your heath first.

Peace
  3. bostonai bostonai

• Since:
    Diabetics

First of all, what kind of a diabetic is your friend? I, II? NIDD? If s/he takes insulin shots more than twice a day, I would monitor glucose within 30min of ingestion. However, I checked my herbal PDR and it says nothing about glucose being lowered due to intake.
  4. Greenman Greenman

• Seasoned Activist
    • Since: Oct 8, 2000