marijuana for postpartum depression while breastfeeding

Discussion in 'Medicinal Marijuana' started by sunflower4208, Feb 25, 2012.

1. sunflower4208 sunflower4208

• Since: Feb 25, 2012
    I have a 5 week old baby boy. I feel like I am getting postpartum depression, not the psycho kind where women kill their kids, just feeling down and depressed. I am breastfeeding and this is a priority to me that I won't change. I have 3 options... use medical marijuana to help with the depression and residual pain from the csection, use prescription antidepressants and pain killers, or just deal with it. I will not give my baby formula. What do you think??
  2. claygooding claygooding

• DrugWarVeteran
    • Since: May 13, 2009
    I am not a doctor but I think it is hard to feel depressed when you are giggling and there are studies concerning cannabinoids and mothers milk/newborns having them from mothers that used marijuana during pregnancy,,none with ill effects and the babies had a higher survival rate than babies not exposed to cannabinoids :shrug:

Granny Storm Crow has the best source for studies and we have a partial list in Medicinal forum,Health Management sticky.
  3. Jonesey Jonesey

• Since: Mar 13, 2012