PANIC ATTACK - Relax -it happens to everyone.

Discussion in 'Medicinal Marijuana' started by Herbalista, Jan 28, 2008.

1. Herbalista Herbalista

• Since: May 31, 2007
    Ok. So for a long time I have been seeing many many threads on these forums about people experiencing panic attacks, and some people that eventually go to the ER.

I wanted to take a minute to talk about what's going on, how this can be prevented etc. - so that you guys that do feel this dont have to worry about it, and can enjoy smoking more.

Ok here we go...

Let me start off by first saying that I am not a doctor, by any means - so don't take what I say too seriously, and dont sue me later. ;) Before smoking I would actually suggest that you do see a doctor, and tell them that you plan on smoking marijuana, and see if they have any concerns out of the ordinary. My doctor knows I smoke, I tell her just so it's out there. Better safe than sorry. Your doctor isnt going to turn you in, they are there to help you.

So anyways, what are some of the common symptoms of a panic attack?

Usually it starts out with stuff like an increased heart rate, sweaty palms, blurry vision, a sense of dizziness etc. This stuff actually tends to increase and get worse for some people, because once they realize they are having these symptoms they freak out - and what happens? Their heart rate gets even faster, they get even sweatier, and even dizzier.

The key here is to remember that you just got done smoking marijuana. The whole point of the plant is to induce psychoactive and physiological effects. It's not tobacco for crying out loud, there are going to be some side effects.

I would suggest that you go over some of these guidelines posted by NORML - for responsible cannabis use:

# Cannabis consumption is for adults only. Many things and activities are suitable for young people, but others absolutely are not. Children do not drive cars, enter into contracts or marry, and they must not use drugs.